The Diocese is split into a number of geographical areas to help parishes and priests. Archdeacons assist bishops, and each is responsible for an area known as an Archdeaconry. There are four in Lichfield Diocese.

Map showing outline of the four archdeaconries of Lichfield Diocese and key towns

The Venerable Paul Thomas, Archdeacon of Salop

Office: 01902 372622

The Archdeaconry of Salop, covers the same ground as the Shrewsbury Episcopal Area (overseen by the Bishop of Shrewsbury). For historic reasons, Shropshire is overseen by the Dioceses of Lichfield (in the north) and Hereford (the south). The boundary roughly falls on a north-west to south-east line from Llanyblodwel on the Welsh border to Badger on the Staffordshire border, including Shrewsbury and most of Telford.

Lucy Thomas

PA to Archdeacon of Salop

Phone: 01902 372622

The Venerable Dr Megan Smith, Archdeacon of Stoke-upon-Trent

Office: 01782 663066
Mobile: 07494 014626

The Archdeaconry of Stoke-upon-Trent covers the majority of the historic county of Staffordshire by area including major industrial areas including the city of Stoke and neighbouring Newcastle-under-Lyme, the county town of Stafford, and brewing town of Burton-upon-Trent. It also includes the large and sparsely populated Staffordshire Moorlands.

Revd Lucinda Wray-Wear

PA to Archdeacon of Stoke-Upon-Trent

Phone: 01782 663066

The Venerable Dr Susan Weller, Archdeacon of Lichfield

Office: 01543 306145
Mobile: 07583 119740

Taking in the middle swathe of Staffordshire, the Archdeaconry of Lichfield includes the ancient capital of Mercia - Tamworth - and the string of former mining towns from Cannock to Brownhills as well as the cathedral city of Lichfield itself.


PA to Archdeacon of Lichfield

Phone: 01543 306145


The Venerable Julian Francis, Archdeacon of Walsall

Covering the large portion of the Black Country that is within Lichfield Diocesem, the Walsall Archdeaconry includes all of Wolverhampton, Walsall and surrounding areas.

Jodie Galley

Office: 01543 306227

PA to Archdeacon of Walsall


Page last updated: 17th November 2021 1:15 PM