The Bishops of Wolverhampton, Lichfield and Shrewsbury The Bishops of Shrewsbury, Lichfield, Wolverhampton and Stafford

Each Bishop works closely with their Archdeacon(s) and has office support from their own PA as well as from the Bishop's Chaplain and Secretary who are based in the Bishop of Lichfield's office.

The Rt Revd Dr Michael Ipgrave

Bishop of Lichfield

Office: 01543 306001

Bishop's House
22 The Close
Lichfield WS13 7LG

Bishop Michael was enthroned as the 99th Bishop of Lichfield on 24 September 2016. He succeeds the Right Reverend Jonathan Gledhill, who retired in 2015.

As diocesan bishop, he has responsibility for one of the Church of England's largest dioceses, leading an episcopal team with the Bishops of Wolverhampton, Stafford and Shrewsbury.

Originally from the midlands, he came to the Diocese after twelve years in south London, the Diocese of Southwark: eight as an archdeacon and four as area Bishop of Woolwich.

He has a long-held interest and expertise in ecumenical and inter-faith matters, work for which he was awarded the OBE in 2012.

The Revd Dr Rebecca Lloyd

Bishop's Chaplain

Supports the bishop's senior staff and responsibility for pastoral matters and clergy discipline processes.

Office: 01543 306002

Ms Diana Hill


PA to the Bishop of Lichfield

Particular responsibility for the Bishop's diary and correspondence.

Office: 01543 306001

Mrs Margaret Wilson

Secretary to the Bishop of Lichfield

Office: 01543 306000


The Rt Revd Clive Gregory

Bishop of Wolverhampton

Office: 01902 824503

61 Richmond Road
Wolverhampton WV3 9JH

The Wolverhampton Episcopal Area, covers the Black Country and southern part of Staffordshire including Lichfield and Tamworth.

After a curacy in Thanet, he spent fifteen years in Coventry as a university chaplain and then rector of four urban churches. 

In his spare time, he has a liking for cricket and books.

Mrs Carol Adams

PA to the Bishop of Wolverhampton

Office: 01902 824503


The Rt Revd Sarah Bullock

Bishop of Shrewsbury

Office: 01743 235867

Athlone House
68 London Road
Shrewsbury SY2 6PG

Bishop Sarah is the anglican Bishop of Shrewsbury* - the part of the Diocese that covers the northern part of Shropshire as far south as Shrewsbury and Telford.

Originally from Manchester, she was vicar of Moss Side to the south of the city centre for 15 years before moving to the Diocese of York where as Archdeacon of York she had responsibility for a large number of urban and rural parishes.

She is alleged to be a dab hand at driving a tractor, riding a racehorse and avoiding pulpits when preaching. At other times she enjoys good wine.


*not to be confused with the other Bishop of Shrewsbury, Rt Revd Mark Davies, bishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Shrewsbury.

Ms Carole Markham

Executive Assistant to the Bishop of Shrewsbury

Office: 01743 235867


Rt Revd Matthew Parker

Bishop of Stafford

Office: 01782 373308

Ash Garth
6 Broughton Crescent
Stoke-on-Trent ST12 9DD

Bishop Matthew was consecrated as bishop in April 2020 (delayed by covid restrictions) to an area he knows well: having come to the diocese as Team Rector in Leek at the beginning of the millenium, he has been Archdeacon of Stoke-upon-Trent since 2013.

Mrs Gemma Trueman

PA to the Bishop of Stafford

Office: 01782 373308


Assistant Bishops
supporting the Diocesan and Area bishops in a more ad hoc role
Open Assistant Bishops