DAC register of quinquennial inspectors

It is advisable that a PCC seeks at least 3 applications, through a formal competitive appointment process, when choosing a new quinquennial inspector or reviewing a current appointment. The DAC now maintains a register (rather than an 'approved list') with details of inspectors currently working in the diocese, from which the PCC can draw, or the PCC may wish to consider a new applicant not on that register.

An inspector, whether on the register or not, can only be appointed by the PCC following consultation with the DAC. As each application for DAC advice constitutes a particular combination of inspector and church building, advice is accordingly given on a case-by-case basis.

  • Before starting an application for DAC advice, please see the diocesan guidance on appointing a quinquennial inspector, including details of the application process and timings

There are several conservation accreditation schemes, some of which have different levels. Please see the Historic England guidance for further information on accreditation, noting that some grant funders require projects (including repairs) on listed buildings to be overseen by a conservation-accredited professional.

Please note that the appointment of a quinquennial inspector is:

  • always of an individual, not a firm
  • for one inspection and report in the first place

It is always an individual who is appointed as they need to fulfil the criteria of the Church of England guidance (see boxed section on appointing a quinquennial inspector) in being suitable for the church building in question. As such, the appointed person should not delegate the work to someone else in the practice, who may not have the same experience.

The register


Whether a tendering professional is on this register or not, the DAC will give advice as to the suitability of their appointment for your church. The National Churches Trust hosts a Professional Trades Directory with a section for quinquennial inspectors where you might find other candidates who may wish to tender.

Abbreviations for accreditation in building conservation (listed after names below):


Adrian Mathias
Address: Brownhill Hayward Brown, Georgian House, 24 Bird Street, Lichfield, Staffordshire WS13 6PT
Telephone: 01543 254357
Email: amathias@bhbarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.bhbarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Andrew Arrol
Address: Arrol Architects, St Mary's Hall, St Mary's Court, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY1 1EG
Telephone: 01743 241111
Email: admin@arrolarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.arrolarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Andrew Hayward
Address: Brownhill Hayward Brown, Georgian House, 24 Bird Street, Lichfield, Staffordshire WS13 6PT
Telephone: 01543 254357
Email: ahayward@bhbarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.bhbarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: RIBA Conservation Register

Anne Netherwood
Address: Anne Netherwood Architect, 11 Cottage Fields, St Martins, Oswestry, Shropshire SY11 3EJ
Telephone: 01691 778495
Email: anne@annenetherwood.co.uk
Website: www.annenetherwood.co.uk
Accreditation: RIBA Conservation Register

Bryan Martin
Address: Bryan Martin Architect, 36 Banbury Lane, Byfield, Northamptonshire NN11 6UX
Telephone: 01327 264358
Email: bryan@bryanmartin.co.uk
Website: www.bryanmartin-architect.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Candida Pino
Address: Arrol Architects, St Mary's Hall, St Mary's Court, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY1 1EG
Telephone: 01743 241111
Email: admin@arrolarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.arrolarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Chris Hesketh
Address: Ctd Architects, Clerk Bank House, Clerk Bank, Leek, Staffordshire ST13 5HE
Telephone: 01538 373477
Email: chris.hesketh@ctdarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.ctdarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Francis Turner
Address: Francis Turner Architect, Elm Cottage, Blymhill, Shifnal, Shropshire TF11 8LL
Telephone: 01952 850411
Email: francis.turner.architect@outlook.com
Accreditation: N/A

Geoff Hillman
Address: Ellis Hillman Partnership, Holly Lodge, 3 Silverdale Road, Wolstanton, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire ST5 8BG
Telephone: 01782 633116
Email: geoff@ellishillmanpartnership.co.uk
Website: www.ellishillmanpartnership.co.uk
Accreditation: N/A

Geraint Roberts
Address: Geraint Roberts Associates, 2 Maes Derw, Llanfechain, Powys SY22 6XN
Telephone: 07722 146949
Email: geraint@grauk.com
Website: www.grauk.com
Accreditation: RIBA Conservation Register

Graeme Renton
Address: Graeme Renton Architecture, 5 Barratt Lane, Attenborough, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire NG9 6AD
Telephone: 07464 428885
Email: contact@graemerenton.com
Website: www.graemerenton.com
Accreditation: AABC Register

Graham Holland
Address: Graham Holland Associates, Winnington Hall, Northwich, Cheshire CW8 4DU
Telephone: 01606 624626
Email: info@grahamhollandassociates.co.uk
Website: www.grahamhollandassociates.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Jane Chamberlain
Address: Caroe & Partners Architects, 34–36 Church Street, Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire GL20 5SN
Telephone: 01531 634848
Email: tewkesbury@caroe.co.uk
Website: www.caroe.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Jennifer Chambers
Address: Chambers Conservation, 88 Tattenhall Road, Tattenhall, Chester, Cheshire CH3 9QJ
Telephone: 07484 133270
Email: jennifer@chambersconservation.com
Website: www.chambersconservation.com
Accreditation: RIBA Conservation Register

Joanna Lawton
Address: Brownhill Hayward Brown, Georgian House, 24 Bird Street, Lichfield, Staffordshire WS13 6PT
Telephone: 01543 254357
Email: jlawton@bhbarchitects.co.uk
Website: www.bhbarchitects.co.uk
Accreditation: RIBA Conservation Register

Mark Evans
Address: Mark Evans Architect, 26 Lickey Road, Lickey, Bromsgrove, Worcestershire B45 8HA
Telephone: 0121 4455727
Email: mark.mea@btconnect.com
Website: www.markevansarchitect.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Mark Newall
Address: Baart Harries Newall, 1 Wilderhope House, Pountney Gardens, Belle Vue, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY3 7LG
Telephone: 01743 364944
Email: studio@bhn.co.uk
Website: www.bhn.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Mark Parsons [NB not taking on any new churches from 1st January 2023]
Address: ASAP Architects, 1 Cackle Hill Cottages, Snelston, Ashbourne, Derbyshire DE6 2DL
Telephone: 01335 324265
Email: mark@asap-architects.com
Website: find-an-architect.architecture.com/anthony-short-and-partners-architects
Accreditation: AABC Register

Mark Stewart
Address: MSA Practice, 16 Hillcrest Drive, Loughborough, Leicestershire LE11 2GX
Telephone: 01509 230703
Email: msa.mark@gmail.com
Website: www.markstewart-architect.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register; RIBA Conservation Register

Martyn Wilshaw
Address: Finlason Partnership, Suite 4, Beech House, 1 Cambridge Road, Hale, Altrincham, Cheshire WA15 9SY
Telephone: 0161 9294422
Email: martynw@finlasonpartnership.co.uk
Website: www.finlasonpartnership.co.uk
Accreditation: [TBC]

Matthew Vaughan
Address: Donald Insall Associates, 30 Harborne Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 3AA
Telephone: 0121 558 5000
Email: matthew.vaughan@insall-architects.co.uk
Website: www.donaldinsallassociates.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Nicholas Rank
Address: Buttress Architects, 41 Bengal Street, Manchester, M4 6AF
Telephone: 0161 2363303
Email: nrank@buttress.net
Website: www.buttress.net
Accreditation: AABC Register

Peter Preston
Address: Manifest Design Workshop, 3 Thames Street, Eynsham, Oxfordshire OX29 4HF
Telephone: 01865 882387
Email: peter@mademanifest.co.uk
Website: www.mademanifest.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Philip Belchere
Address: Hookmason Consulting, Suite 2, Thorn Office Centre, Rotherwas, Hereford, Herefordshire HR2 6JT
Telephone: 01432 352299
Email: philip.belchere@hookmason.co.uk
Website: www.hookmason.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register; RIBA Conservation Register

Philip Wootton
Address: Philip Wootton Architect, 3 Belgrave Avenue, Alsager, Cheshire ST7 2BX
Telephone: 07411 702420
Email: philipjwootton@gmail.com
Website: www.woottonarchitecture.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Robert Kilgour
Address: Robert Kilgour Architects, 4 Park Lane, Bewdley, Worcestershire DY12 2EL
Telephone: 01299 409044
Email: robert@robertkilgour.co.uk
Website: www.robertkilgour.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Sarah Baldwin
Address: Hawkes Edwards, 1 Old Town, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 6BG
Telephone: 01789 298877
Email: sarah@hawkesedwards.com
Website: www.hawkesedwards.com
Accreditation: AABC Register; RIBA Conservation Register

Sarah Butler
Address: Donald Insall Associates, Bridgegate House, 5 Bridge Place, Chester, Cheshire CH1 1SA
Telephone: 01244 350063
Email: sarah.butler@insall-architects.co.uk
Website: www.donaldinsallassociates.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Simon Smith
Address: Wood Goldstraw Yorath, Churchill House, Regent Road, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire ST1 3RH
Telephone: 01782 208000
Email: s.smith@woodgoldstraw.co.uk
Website: www.woodgoldstraw.co.uk
Accreditation: N/A

Stephen Hart
Address: Horsley Huber Architects, Castleberg Studio, 134 Newport Road, Stafford, Staffordshire ST16 2HB
Telephone: 01785 251238
Email: stephen.hart@hhastudio.com
Website: www.hhastudio.com
Accreditation: N/A

Stephen Oliver
Address: Oliver Architecture, The Coffin Works, 13–15 Fleet Street, Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1JP
Telephone: 0121 7735002
Email: conservation@oliver-architecture.co.uk
Website: www.oliver-architecture.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Steven Matthews
Address: Brown Matthews Architects, Oak Tree Design Studio, Wolverton Road, Snitterfield, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 0HB
Telephone: 07974 916579
Email: steven@brownmatthews.co.uk
Website: www.brownmatthews.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register

Tim Ratcliffe
Address: Tim Ratcliffe Associates, Cambrian House, Nantmawr, Oswestry, Shropshire SY10 9HL
Telephone: 01691 829240
Email: office@timratcliffe.co.uk
Website: www.timratcliffe.co.uk
Accreditation: AABC Register


Please note: The DAC register is populated on a rolling programme, as further inspectors are appointed by PCCs in the diocese


Page last updated: Friday 23rd September 2022 4:13 PM
Powered by Church Edit