General Synod election results 2021

Published: 13th October 2021

Electors have cast their votes and election overseers have counted them.

As Presiding Officer, diocesan secretary Canon Julie Jones said "I am very encouraged that this new system of election appears to have enabled more people to vote and our 'turnout' was 54% overall, which exceeds any previous turnout by about 14%. I am sure the whole diocese will join me in congratulating the successful candidates as well as praying for their individual and corporate contribution to the new Synod."

Here are the new representatives from Lichfield Diocese to the Church of England's General Synod for the next five years with the links to their individual election addresses:

House of Laity

Mrs Penny Allen Wolverhampton
Dr Rosalind Clarke Stafford
Mr Matthew Edwards Burton-on-Trent
Mr Christopher Gill Newcastle-under-Lyme
Mrs Amanda Robbie West Bromwich
Mr Martin Shakespeare Market Drayton
Mr John Wilson Lichfield

Papers Issued: 887
Papers returned: 433
Spoilt papers: 2
Percentage poll: 48.81%

Here are the full Return of Election Result and voting figures for the House of Laity.

House of Clergy

The Revd Matt Beer Telford
The Revd Damian Feeney Wolverhampton
The Revd Preb Patricia Hawkins Ellesmere
The Revd Zoe Heming Stafford
The Revd Treena Larkin Wolverhampton
The Revd Shaun Morris Stoke-on-Trent

Papers Issued: 395
Papers returned: 247
Spoilt papers: 0
Percentage poll: 62.53%

Here are the full Return of Election Result and voting figures for the Proctors in Covocation.

House of Bishops

As a diocesan bishop, Rt Revd Michael Ipgrave is a de facto member of General Synod. 

As well as the archbishops and diocesan bishops, there are five suffragan bishops - none of those elected are from this diocese.

Page last updated: Wednesday 13th October 2021 4:18 PM
Powered by Church Edit